The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

I’m not generally fond of blog tags, nor do I regularly get tagged in them (and thats probably why), but recently I was exposed to one that made me obscenely excited to replicate it. I know the whole “don’t judge a book by its cover” theory is generally expected to be true, but I’m pretty superficial, and I do judge a book by its appearance. Sometimes it’s looks alone that can convince me to buy a novel, and at other times its what persuades me not to.

This tag, known as the ‘Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag’, celebrates good design in books, all the way from the cover to the endpages. It was initiated by Book Syrup on YouTube (you can check out the video here), and has been recreated many times over by many Youtubers and bloggers. I’ve answered each of the questions except one, which is about chapter headings, because I couldn’t find one I particularly loved.

So, without further ado.

1. Best Colour Combination on a Book Cover –  The Muse by Jesse Burton

Themuse

I haven’t read this book yet, to be honest, but I’ve seen it appear multiple times on my Pinterest feed and have always paused a minute to admire it.

2. Best Typography on a Book Cover – The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

the chaosofstars

I picked this book not simply because of how pretty the type is, but also because of how seamlessly it fits into the backdrop. The entire cover seems to have been designed around it.

3. Best Simple Cover – 1984 by George Orwell

1984 George Orwell thecornercoffeeshop

This was the most difficult one, because there are way too much books with great minimalist covers, but this one definitely takes the cake.

4. Best Endpages – Zombies Vs Unicorns by Holly Black

zombies vs unicorns
Picture Credit: @bibliocat4 on Instagram

5. Best Naked Hardback – The Diviners by Libba Bray

the diviners libba bray.jpg
Picture Credit: onthewingsofbooks

I haven’t seen a lot of naked hardbacks (mostly since I’m too broke to buy hardcovers), so I can’t say that this is the best one out there, but it’s certainly the prettiest one I’ve seen.

6.  Best Back Cover – This is Not the End of the Book by Umberto Eco

this is not the end of the book umberto eco

I realise this is cheating because I’m looking at both the front and back cover together, but then again nobody pays much attention to the back cover alone, and so I couldn’t find one I genuinely loved. Please ignore my folly and place all your attention on the beauty of that typeface.

7. Best Illustrations – Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

where the wild things are

This book was written and  designed by Maurice Sendack. I couldn’t find a picture of the actual copy, so this separate illustration will have to suffice.

8. Best Spine – Penguin x Anna Bond Collection of Classics

rifle paper books

This was probably the easiest category to pick. I’ve been a fan of Rifle Paper Co. and its creator Anna Bond for a long time now, and have often come across this gorgeous collection of classics. If I could, I’d nominate this collection for best colour scheme as well, but that would be unfair, so I’m going to confine it here to a singular win.

9. Favourite Cover on Your Shelf – The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

the watchmaker of filigree street natasha pulley best book cover

This is the only picture in this post that I’ve clicked myself, because all the others I either don’t own or only have a copy of on my Kindle. Again, this was an easy win. Although I didn’t enjoy the story as much as I wanted to, there’s no doubt about it being the prettiest book on my shelf.

Leave a Reply

